A thrilling year for Christian Ahlmann

The German Champion is unstoppable in the current season!

  • #german
  • #jumping

In 2001 the International Jumping Riders Club (IJRC) created the first Rolex IJRC Top 10 Final. The 2016 edition is sixteenth of this world-famous spectacle. The world’s Top 10 riders competed on Friday 9 December and for the twelfth time the competition staged in CHI Geneva. With five top riders and horses jumping fault-free in the first round, the final round was thrilling. Christian Ahlmann took a commanding lead in round two, setting a superb time of 43.05 seconds which looked hard to beat.
The last three riders of the class to go were Steve Guerdat, Kevin Staut and Eric Lamaze. Even the elite riders, Staut and Guerdat, were unable to push Ahlmann out of title spot, leaving it to Canada’s Eric Lamaze to challenge the German rider. Lamaze and his mare Fine Lady 5 finished in a time of 42.56 seconds, providing Lamaze with the narrowest of margins to win the class.

Christian Ahlmann, 41 years old, is currently the world number 1. 2016 has been a really brilliant year for the German champion. Till now Ahlmann took part in six editions of Rolex IJRC Top 10 Final: 2005, 2006, 2007, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2016. He won the Final in 2006 and 2012, both in Geneva with Lorenzo 208 and Taloubet Z respectively.
A few times he did not win, and was second! He is in the Top Ten for eleven month during 2016 and he is number one since last August. He is actually the leader after winning five-star Grand Prix competitions in Dinard, Villach and Basel during 2016 as well as the Longines FEI World Cup in Stuttgart, the Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup Final in Barcelona and the Nations Cup of Aachen and last but not least the team bronze medal at the Olympic Games at Rio de Janeiro riding Taloubet Z.

1. Eric Lamaze (CAN) and Fine Lady 5
2. Christian Ahlmann (GER) and Taloubet Z
3. Steve Guerdat (SUI) and Corbinian
4. Kevin Staut (FRA) and Reveur de Hurtebise HDC
5. Penelope Leprevost (FRA) and Vagabond de la Pomme
6. Scott Brash (GBR) and Hello M’Lady
7. Marcus Ehning (GER) and Pret A Tout
8. Kent Farrington (USA) and Creedance
9. Daniel Deusser (GER) and First Class van Eeckelghem
10. Simon Delestre (FRA) and Chadino